What To Do, Where to Shop

Beauty School Dropout

I have lot’s-o-locks. It takes most stylists twice as much dye, product, and time to make my mane look foxy. I’ve always been a firm believer in spending major doe on my hair because let’s face it ladiez, it’s a worthy investment. But what if we lived in a world where us ballers could receive the upmost quality hair treatment without having to go hungry for a month? Enter hair schools.

I know what you’re thinking: I don’t want no Frenchie handling my do! But hear me out.

Most of hair care’s most trusted brands such as Paul Mitchell and Aveda have schools all across the country stocked with their company’s top professionals as teachers. Although the students execute the cut and/or color, the teacher acts as a monitor and is present through out the guest’s entire visit. At most schools, the teacher even directs the initial consultation to ensure that everyone is on the same page. I have never left a hair school upset and dissatisfied.

The single draw back about hair schools is that it is time consuming. Keep in mind that these stylists are students, meaning a visit with color could take up to three or four hours due to their learning pace. On the flip side, when I can get my hair cut and colored for $50…hell, I’d give em my whole day!

If you’re living in Indianapolis I’d recommend visiting the Aveda Institute over in Castelton Mall. They are uber professional and give every guest the all-star treatment (I’m talking hand/head massages). A very lovely lady gave me a Zooey Deschanel-esq bang trim the other day in fact…for $5! Can’t beat it. So give them call! Unless of course you want boring, expensive hair for the rest of your life. Pft.

-CARL

Standard

Leave a Reply

