What To Do

Burlesque, Fair and Films!

Hello welcome to your Friday edition of Ballin’ on a Budget were, I, Blythe N. Bartel, am letting you know what all the kool kats in Indy will be up to this weekend. Without further ado:

Burlesque Bingo Bango Show: If you have not been to a burlesque show they are a blast and the White Rabbit Cabaret puts on some damn good shows. Tonight Alabaster Betty, Jiggles McGee and the Muncie Brothers will be hosting bingo. It’s $10 at the door and you should probably get there early (bingo starts at 1opm) because it can/will sell out. Also, in case your mom never sat you down and explained what burlesque is,  it’s just a little sexy striptease. No lady bits are shown, it’s all (mostly) clean fun.

Marion County Fair: Let me start this one out by saying that I am a city kid. I’ve ridden horses a few times, but the only camping I’ve really done has been on my back porch. with an air mattress. and a tv. and a fan. and lots of extension cords. So basically attending a fair is just a way for me to play pretend.  It’s $5 bucks to get in ($1 coupon here) and there are plenty of farm/country things to do.

Indie Arts and Vinage Marketplace: Today’s Friday round up is letting ya’ll know a lot about me and this event is no exception. It’s no secret that I love antiques. Little treasures from the past that have known other lands and people than I. So it should came as no surprise that the India Arts & Vintage Marketplace is another coolio thing to do in town. It only happens once a month and the people that run it invite a select group of people to come and sell stuff, so they basically do all the work for you.

Keystone Art Cinema Midnight Showing: Keystone Art is my favorite movie theater in town (Wagon and I are seeing this film tonight). They have a great little bar attached so you can drink a brew AND enjoy a flick but they also show rad old-ish films at midnight. This weeks is Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Basically this theater is awesome and I’m planning on seeing the midnight showing of Jurassic Park because I was 5 when it first came out and waaaay too little to see it in theaters.

That’s all. If you plan on attending any of these things, there is a very, very good chance that you will run into me.

BNB

P.S. If you’re thinking that bingo might be your thing, you should stop by my most favoritest place for dinner, The Red Lion Grog House. Say hello to Wally and get THE BEST french onion soup in the United States (I’m not kidding, it’s the best ever).

Standard

Leave a Reply

