What To Do, Where to Shop

Art, Art, Art and more ART!

A few weeks ago Mama Co and I trekked to Peoria, IL in hopes of surprising my cousin at her bridal shower. While our plot was semi foiled (she was still surprised!), something else super cool happened. On our way there my aunt, nonchalantly, tells me that the bridal shower is being hosted by her friend, who lives in an alleged Frank Lloyd Wright House. Wait, WHAT?!!?! 

We turned onto the street, the homes on either side were huge, beautiful and old. A white mansion had many long, white columns it would’ve looked right at home somewhere in the south. (I later found out that the top floor of this exact white mansion is a ballroom!!) And then we were there. The point of this post isn’t to tell you about how great this house was, because as you can see from the picture up top it was pretty fantastic. I won’t bore you with the details of the old luggage room that they converted into a bathroom, or the retention pond and statues on the property or the rooms under their separate garage where the help once lived. The point of this post is to tell you about the walls.   

Our kind host’s husband collected pieces of art and had for many years. He favored vintage french posters, from the turn of the century and loved works by Theophile Steinlen. All over their house were these large, vivid vintage posters. And I do mean large. Like one was bigger than me. (the one above) I asked him about his collection and he told me that he started collecting them years ago. Many are in their home but some are in storage and others are on display in various parts of Peoria. Now granted, this man is a doctor, so he has some money to sink into beautiful, wonderful artwork, but it got me thinking.

An ORIGINAL Le Chat Noir poster

Since graduating from college I’ve bought clothes, paid rent and bills and spent money on dumb things like dining out, but I’ve also been buying prints from some of my favorite artists in town. As a young adult, I’m cultivating my tastes and what I like and don’t like when it comes to art. I know that I like impressionism and post impressionism, that I tend to like bright colors and things of fantasy or art that plays on the visages of the famous.

So what I’m telling you all to do, basically, is discover what kind of art you like or sometimes it’s easier to find what you don’t like. Support some of the local artists in town and start buying art instead of Audrey Hepburn posters. If 20 years from now my home is filled with prints from artists I love, I will be a very, very happy camper.

Here are some of my favorite artists in town:

Mab Graves

Jonathan McAfee

Justin Vining

Charmaine Olivia – She’s from Cali but still awesome

BNB

Standard

2 thoughts on “Art, Art, Art and more ART!

  1. Thanks for the shout out in your recent blog post. I hope you can make it out to my next solo exhibition at the Harrison Center’s Main Gallery on September 7. I’ll have all new paintings/drawings.

Leave a Reply

