FUN, Looks to Try, Vintage Finds

Bow Ties – Not Just for Boys

“The bow tie hints at intellectualism, real or feigned, and sometimes suggests technical acumen, perhaps because it is so hard to tie. Bow ties are worn by magicians, country doctors, lawyers and professors and by people hoping to look like the above. But perhaps most of all, wearing a bow tie is a way of broadcasting an aggressive lack of concern for what other people think.”                                         -Warren St John, New York Times 

photo562

No pressure or anything, just broadcasting my aggressive lack of concern for your opinion. I recently became enamored with bow ties – they seem so cool and effortless. And after some research, I learned about how noble they make you appear, Wikipedia even has an entire page devoted JUST to notable people who have worn bow ties. So I began my quest for the perfect bow tie, one that wouldn’t make me look like a waiter. I decided that a self tie was a bit too much for me, I’m all about suffering for fashion, but if I could find one that clips or is pre tied, I was all about it. What I discovered in my quest is my perfect bow tie. It’s slightly exaggerated and made out of VELVET. I thought I left velvet behind in the 7th grade along with all my Limited Too pastel pants, but I was wrong. Large velvet bow ties are perfect for ladies trying to dip their toe into this fashion trend. I bought a dark, midnight blue one with droopy corners on Etsy for $8. It clips right onto the collar of my shirt, super easy! My bow tie is perfecto – not too stuffy, not too formal, just right. I wore mine out with a white silk button up and black skinny jeans. I also added a few long necklaces to add some dimension. I took it all for a spin at Keystone. It was interesting taking on a mall in my bow tie, I received a few double takes but surprisingly I garnered a few compliments from men and women alike.  I’m dying to try my bow tie with this beautiful printed blouse, also from Madewell, can you tell I’ve been a bit obsessed lately? Their items are expensive but they are great quality and the store tends to have a killer sales. If bow tie’ing is for you and you are interested in giving it a try, here are some lovely velvet bow ties currently for sale on Etsy. I’d love to hear what outfits you create with your bow ties.

Standard

Leave a Reply

