Wedding

Engagement Photos

166715_10151814970608508_714799155_n

Since Waggo and I had a short engagement (barely 6 months) we weren’t able to get engagement photos done in time to incorporate them into our invitations. But we still decided to go ahead with the shoot for a few reasons. 

Reason #1: Choosing a wedding photographer was incredibly nerve wracking. Having an engagement session with the same photog that would be shooting our wedding gave us a chance to all meet and get comfortable. Violet Short was AWESOME and she got a chance to see how Waggo and I interact before it was the big day.

Reason #2: We also had never had nice photos taken of us. Looking back, I’m SO GLAD that we did our engagement session, because it’s great to have photos of us were we aren’t in weddin’ gear. I’ve included a few photos from our session here, but you can see way more over on Violet’s blog, BLYTHEPONYTAILPARADES!

We decided to have our session in Irvington. We took photos at Wagon’s brewery, Black Acre Brewing Co, their warehouse, Bona Thompson Memorial Center and the Benton House. Outfit #1 was a red dress that I picked up at H&M a few years ago, my weddin’ day wedges and a vintage belt. Outfit #2 was a black lace top, also from H&M and quite old, and a printed skirt that I got when I was 15. I didn’t want to go out and buy new clothes for our engagement shoot because I wanted to wear things that I knew I would feel confident and comfortable in. I also wanted our photos to have a timeless feel to them, so I stayed away from trendy items. And of course I had wardrobe help from my best gal, Carl.

601713_10151856755403508_1055991482_n 59197_10151856762138508_1788021547_n

After we wrapped the shoot, I did a little indulging. Love me some Flamin’ HOT Fries Screen shot 2013-08-29 at 12.23.02 PM

Standard

Leave a Reply

